Ready for the new Google Consent Mode v2?

Starting from March 13, 2024 you have to use Google Consent Mode v2 to comply with the latest regulations

Get to know about all the important topics related to privacy and cookies

Knowledge base

Which European countries are not covered by the GDPR?

The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) applies to all European Union (EU) countries. It also applies to any company doing business in those countries, independently of where the company is based.

The following EU countries are covered by the GDPR:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • The Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden

The following European countries have not adopted the GDPR:

  • Albania
  • Belarus
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Croatia
  • Kosovo
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • North Macedonia
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Ukraine.

The GDPR does not apply in the UK after the end of the Brexit transition period (31 December 2020). The Data Protection Act 2018 is the UK's implementation of the GDPR, which controls the collection and processing of the personal information of UK residents. The provisions of the European GDPR have been incorporated directly into UK law as the UK GDPR.

Turkey has not adopted the GDPR.

Are you selling products in different countries? With CookieScript geo-targeting functionality, you could deliver different cookie banners to your website users based on their geographic locations.